Bundles can be associated with the following entities:
- Main product – you can include a bundle in a main product and it will automatically be applied to every account using this product.
- Add-on product – you can also include a bundle in an add-on product. This option is more flexible because it allows you to assign or remove bundles independently of the main product.
- Customer – bundles can also be assigned at the customer level, meaning the allocated service volumes will be shared among all customer accounts.
- Account – you can directly assign an individual bundle to a specific account.
There may be cases where bundles are assigned to an account at multiple levels simultaneously (e.g., one via the main product and another via the add-on product). Let’s see how these bundles are applied in such situations.
- a bundle with 10 GB of data via the main product;
- a bundle with 20 GB of internet and 50 minutes of domestic calls via the add-on product with “high” priority;
- a bundle with 30 GB of internet via the add-on product with “medium” priority;
- a bundle with 40 GB of internet assigned directly to the customer;
- a bundle with 5 GB and 60 minutes of domestic calls assigned directly to the account.
The bundles are used in the following order:
- Bundles assigned directly to an account.
- Bundles assigned via an add-on product.
If several add-on products are assigned, the corresponding bundles will be used according to the add-ons' priorities, from “high” to “low”.
- Bundles assigned via the main product.
- Bundles assigned to a customer.
A bundle assigned directly to the account has the highest priority and is used first. For example, if the account uses up to 5 GB of internet but still has 40 out of 60 minutes of domestic calls left, the system will first use the internet from the bundle assigned via the add-on product with higher priority, while the minutes will continue to be used from the bundle assigned to the account until fully consumed. Once the bundle from the add-on product with higher priority is exhausted, the system will switch to the bundle from the add-on with a lower priority (e.g., “medium”), then to the bundle from the main product, and if needed, apply the bundle assigned at the customer level.
Single-step bundle upgrade
When you assign an add-on product with the same priority that includes a bundle of the same type, service, and/or code group, PortaBilling suggests the following options:
- Replace the active add-on product with the new one. PortaBilling applies the bundle defined in the new add-on product.
- Schedule when the new add-on product will be activated. PortaBilling will replace the active add-on product with the new one on the specified date.
Note that bundle counters will be preserved during product change. To check the reasons for the add-on product conflict, click the Arrow
to the right of Details of the add-on product conflict.

