On this panel, you can fine-tune the bundle item configuration for the Renewable by calendar bundle type.
Renewal period
Select how often the service volume should be renewed (daily, weekly, semi-monthly, or monthly). The default value is “Monthly.”
The renewal period of the bundle can align with the customer's billing period:
- Monthly renewal period – aligns with Monthly, Monthly (anniversary), and 30 days billing periods
- Semi-monthly renewal period – aligns with semi-monthly billing period
- Weekly renewal period – aligns with the weekly billing period
- Daily renewal period – aligns with the daily billing period
For instance, if you set a "Monthly" renewal period for 1 GB of data and a customer with a monthly billing period activates the bundle on September 15, the 1 GB will be renewed when the new billing period begins on October 1, and not on October 15.
However, the renewal period can differ from the customer's billing period. For example, if you set a “Daily” renewal period for 1 GB of data, the system will allocate 1 GB to the customer every day, regardless of their billing period - even if their billing period is monthly.
This setting is ignored for a service volume with “Unlimited” threshold.
Allowed number of rollovers
Select the maximum number of renewal periods that the unused service volume can be rolled over. The default value is 0 (which means that the rollover is not allowed) and the maximum value is 3.
For example, if the service volume is renewed monthly, and you select 2, the unused service volume from the first month will be rolled over to the second month and if not used completely, to the 3rd month (2 rollovers). Unused service volume that's not completely used by the end of the third month expires.
Note that if the unused service volume from two or more usage periods rolls over to the next one, the service volume with the earliest expiration time is used first.
The rollover configuration is ignored for the service volume with “Unlimited” threshold.
If the volume is used up
Configure service availability once the service volume is depleted. You can choose one of the following options:
- Provide service as usual – no service restrictions will be applied. The end user can consume the services on the pay-as-you-go basis according to the assigned product’s tariff.
- Block the service – the service usage will be restricted.
- Limited (available for the internet access service only) – the service will be limited according to the Internet access policy , e.g., the bandwidth will be restricted from 5 Mbps to 256 Kbps once the units are used up.
This setting is ignored for a service volume with “Unlimited” threshold.
Prorate thresholds for first usage period
This option controls how a service volume applies when the service is used during an incomplete billing period. This happens when a user signs up for a service or switches to a new bundle in the middle of the billing period.
- Disabled (default) – the prorating is turned off. The service volume will be provided in full for an incomplete billing period.
- Common prorating – choose this option to prorate the service volume according to the number of days remaining in the first usage period when the bundle is assigned.
For example, say you configured “Common prorating” for a 1000-minute bundle item. If the service volume is allocated monthly and the bundle is assigned on September 21st, then the threshold becomes 333 minutes since there are 10 days remaining in September (1000*(30-20)=333). For the following month, 1000 minutes will be allocated.
This setting is ignored for a service volume with “Unlimited” threshold.
Allow unused units transfer
Turn on the toggle to enable end users to transfer service units or money between their bundle items.
To allow units/money transfer, enable this option within the bundle item both for the sender and the recipient. Note that their bundle items must be measured identically (e.g., in MB, minutes, or money).
The lifetime of transferred units/money synchronizes with the lifetime of the recipient’s bundle item. Transferred units/money are always used up first.
Split xDRs if a session spans over several rating periods
This toggle controls how PortaBilling charges and produces xDRs for user sessions that span over several rating periods (e.g., cover peak and off-peak periods or span several thresholds).
Let's say a user has 2 minutes left out of a 100-minute service volume. The user makes an 8-minute call where 2 minutes are covered by the service volume and 6 minutes are charged using the normal rate of $0.10/min.
After you turn on the toggle, PortaBilling produces xDRs for every portion of a session:
- xDR #1: 2 min * $0.10 - 100% = $0.0
- xDR #2: 6 min *$0.10 - 0% = $0.60
These xDRs are linked to the applicable rate.
Turn off the toggle for PortaBilling to produce a single xDR for a total session duration using the aggregated discount rate. This aggregated rate is calculated from every rate that applies to each individual portion of the session and the duration of each portion: 100% * (2/8) + 0% * (6/8) = 25%. The resulting xDR is then produced as: 8 min * $0.10 – 25% = $0.60.
This setting is ignored for a quota with “Unlimited” threshold.
